erinism: #socialmedia and other explorations


Why do we blog?

Posted in Uncategorized by Erin on December 7, 2009
Tags: ,

I originally started this blog in September when I lost my job. Not only did I have extra time on my hands, but I also truthfully missed writing. From school to my career, writing has always been important to me—I was definitely the type to prefer papers rather than tests. Written communication has always been an essential outlet (I often find myself with so many thoughts and ideas buzzing in my head, writing is the only way for me to get them all out).

Last week, I attended the BlogHer NYC Holiday Party. I met some fabulous ladies (and a few gents!), and the conversation was a mirrored reflection of their exterior: striking, chic, and up-to-the-minute on trends and news alike.

@MeghanButler, @CiaoChessa, and me! at Pranna

More than a few ladies asked me, “Why did you start a blog?” A simple enough question, yes, but I found that my response didn’t quite match why I originally thought I started this blog.

I like to write, of course. But my answers were more of the “I feel like I can actually have a voice in my industry,” and “I want to explore upcoming trends and issues in social media” variety.

Some people blog on behalf of corporations. For others, blogging’s merely a fun hobby and a way to connect with others. For others still, it’s a great way to update friends and family on what’s going on in his or her life. No matter what it is, it is important to have a purpose when writing anything. (Insert flashbacks to high school English class here.)

I’ll be the first to admit that I am a far cry from LAF or Sasha Halima. And yet—I am not trying to be them. As much as I respect these ladies and many other people who blog about the industry, it’s vital to not attempt emulation. Fashion can be replicated and be accepted as flattery—but thoughts, ideas, and innovation are exceptionally one’s own. There is a fine line between inspiration and imitation.

So—what’s this post’s point? Simply said, I have a renewed motivation to actively explore those trends and issues I preached about while at BlogHer. A new sense of needing to connect with people. And I will do so with this very blog.

Sticky notes abound on my Macbook’s desktop, full of blog post topics and other ideas. This post is a vow to finally resolve the purpose of those sticky notes and bring them to fruition.

Why do you blog?

9 Responses to 'Why do we blog?'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Why do we blog?'.


  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Erin McGillivray, Nicole Dufour. Nicole Dufour said: RT @erinmcg: New blog post: Why do we blog? – http://bit.ly/7jKDlD […]


  2. Hi Erin! Fantastic blog post!!! @agreatfullday and I have been talking about something quite similar lately about all the recently mags that have folded. Basically that the mags have failed because they were trying to do web in print just like a lot of websites have failed because they were trying to do print on the web. I definitely see a place for both, but it should be interesting to see what rises from the ashes. I think that blogs {especially yours} will be the future replacement of mags like glamour, instyle, etc because your content is more agile and has a single direction not influenced by a corporate culture or advertisers.

    • Erin said,

      Thank you, Nicole! I completely agree with you. Web and print are different monsters and should be treated as such. Like you, I see a place for both. A single entity can have presences on each, but they must offer different things.


  3. Nicole – I totally agree with you.

    Erin – I have a subscription to Vanity Fair and Harper’s Bizarre and I just realized the other day that I’m two months behind because I’d rather read from my Blackberry than a magazine. This was a startling discovery because I’ve always been a “hard copy purist” who actually *enjoys* spending 5 bucks on a NYTimes Sunday edition. But I realized that I enjoy the casual, informal feel of blogs. I feel that mass media tries to wash personality out of writing (one of the reasons that, as a journalism major, I did not pursue writing for a major media outlet) blogs bring that personality back. It’s more of a conversation than a proclamation.

    I love writing my blog because it’s sweet release from the day to day tasks that are a complete PITA for me.(Pain-in-the-a$$). I blog because I like the informal feel to it. I don’t care if 10 people or 1,000 people read it and I think that “devil may care” attitude attracts more readers than the super serious news type. Or maybe I’m way off. The point is, either way, blogs with personality are more enjoyable and engaging than the typical news outlets and that’s why blogging is important – the keep the convo going.

    • Erin said,

      I subscribe to several magazines as well. A few months ago I went through a “I need to help save journalism!” phase and subscribed to four magazines in one day. I feel like they offer different things than the online world (and rightfully so), but I often leave wanting more (meaning, they are no longer fully satisfying). Clearly advertising and editors influence what lies within the pages. I completely agree–I enjoy the personality, casualness, and interaction of blogs and other online sources.

  4. Eva said,

    Erin, You could teach some higher education professionals the importance of blogging. They don’t know what to blog about, but know they should do it (because everyone else is)…not to mention Twitter.

    • Erin said,

      Well, at least they know that they should blog. Better than some organizations that simply brush off the idea of social media altogether…or worse yet, are afraid of it. Sarah of PRSarahEvans.com used to do great things in social media at a community college… And, although I may be biased, the University of Minnesota is finally starting to “get it.”

  5. sashahalima said,

    You are totally cool & absolutely great just the way you are!

    Being unique is what makes a person special, IMO.

    Thanks for the shout-out!

    @SashaHalima
    http://littlepinkbookpr.com

    P.S.,
    Love the picture!!! Those are 3 of my favourite chicas in NYC ❤ *muah*

    • Erin said,

      Sasha, you are too sweet 🙂


Leave a Reply

