erinism: #socialmedia and other explorations


social MEdia

Posted in social media by Erin on September 26, 2009

I really love all aspects of social media: planning, implementation, and measurement (and all three are necessary for a successful strategy).  In fact, it was me who introduced my former firm to the social media world.  Others were convinced it was merely a fad and that it would fade over time; once I secured my first placement on CNN via networking on Twitter, a few minds were changed.

I yield to call myself an expert; the field is far too new to be appointing so-called experts.  However, I do consider myself an eternal student of the art of social media, yearning to soak up and develop more and more tactics to Twitter and other outlets.  I find that sites such as Mashable.com, Penn-Olson.com, and PRSarahEvans.com are great resources and I do read them daily.  Additionally, I had recently decided to continue my education at NYU-SCPS in Digital Media Marketing.

Consumer brands–like Southwest Airlines or Comcast–are obvious candidates for strong social media campaigns, but the true challenge arises when a less-than-traditional brand approaches social media (and there’s no reason they can’t join the party, too–I designed a social media campaign for Zurich Financial Services in my last position).  One of the most advantageous aspects of social media is that it blurs the lines between public relations, marketing, and customer service.  And, yes, all three are necessary for a brand to flourish.

Leave a Reply

